R&D

Be a technological trendsetter, produce innovations that drive technological progress – this has always been our motto, ever since the PCB first appeared in Europe, here in the Lower Rhine area. Intensive research and development work has always been and still is necessary if our company is to grow and be a successful business. The fruits of this work include numerous patents on basic technology.
 
Until about the mid-1980s, we focused our research and development mainly on improving and developing procedures for manufacturing printed circuit boards in the widest range of variations.
 
The work has been concentrated on such things as metallization of plastics, the development of catalytic solutions for chemical copper-plating and chemical formulas for depositing copper-plating solutions.
 
Increasing automation of the processes for manufacturing printed circuit boards has been accompanied by greater competence of the supply industry. Increasing pressure on costs in global competition has led to the restructuring of development departments at circuit board manufacturers. Today our R&D activity is characterised by modern project work. Further developments and research projects in PCB technology are carried out in co-operation with customers, suppliers and higher education institutions. The work in these project groups is related to practical situations on the part of the industrial partners, while the colleges do the academic work. Unimicron Germany represents a pool of competence and as such is regularly called upon by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research to take part in projects receiving state support. A proof is the official hotEL logo of the co-operative research project on high temperature electronics.

R & D

Bereits seit der Herstellung der ersten in Deutschland serienmäßig gefertigten Leiterplatte, in der Region Niederrhein, war die Maxime von Unimicron Germany, als Technologie-Trendsetter mit Innovationen den technischen Fortschritt voranzutreiben. Umfassende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten waren und sind erforderlich, damit unser Unternehmen wachsen und erfolgreich sein kann. Daraus resultierten über die Jahre eine Vielzahl an Patenten in der Basistechnologie.

Bis in die Mitte der 1980er Jahre konzentrierte sich Unimicron Germany mit seiner Forschung und Entwicklung hauptsächlich auf die Verbesserung und Entwicklung von Verfahren für die Herstellung von Leiterplatten in den verschiedensten Varianten.

Dabei konzentrierten wir uns beispielsweise auf die Metallisierung von Kunststoffen, die Entwicklung von Katalysatorlösungen für die chemische Verkupferung und die Optimierung der galvanischen Verkupferung.

Eine zunehmende Automation der Herstellungsprozesse von Leiterplatten (PCB) wurde von einer wachsenden Kompetenz der Zulieferindustrie begleitet. Der wachsende Kostendruck im weltweiten Wettbewerb hat zur Umstrukturierung in den Entwicklungsabteilungen der Leiterplattenhersteller geführt. Heute zeichnet sich unsere R & D-Aktivität durch eine moderne Projektarbeit aus. Weitere Entwicklungs- und Forschungsprojekte in der Leiterplatten-Technologie werden in Kooperation mit Kunden, Zulieferern sowie Hochschulen durchgeführt. Die Arbeit in diesen Projektgruppen bezieht sich auf die konkreten Herausforderungen bei den Industriepartnern, während die Hochschulen die akademischen Arbeiten übernehmen. Unimicron Germany verfügt über ein erstklassiges Know-How und arbeitet daher häufig an Projekten mit, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung unterstützt werden. Ein Beleg dafür ist das offizielle hotEL-Logo des kooperativen Forschungsprojekts über Hochtemperaturelektronik.